Australian Defence Force bases

Robertson Barracks

Robertson Barracks a major Australian Army base at Holzte, 15km east of Darwin.

A purpose built facility to support 1st Brigade and 1st Aviation Regiment with significant number of living, working and training facilities. Robertson Barracks also supports the US Marine Rotational Force Darwin.

Larrakeyah Defence Precinct

HMAS Coonawarra a Royal Australian Navy base, located in Darwin, is home to twelve fleet units of the Navy and Armidale Class Patrol Boats, and Headquarters the Northern Command (HQNORCOM). HQNORCOM coordinates the planning and conduct of operations north of Australia during peacetime and wartime.

Learn more about Larakeyah Defence Precinct Navy website.

Also located within the Larrakeyah Defence Precinct is the North-West Mobile Force (NORFORCE). NORFORCE is an Army Reserve infantry regiment of the Australian Army.

For information on the North-West Mobile Force visit Army website.

RAAF Base Darwin

RAAF Base Darwin is the Air Force’s main forward operating base located 6.5km north east of Darwin.

For more information visit Air Force website.

RAAF Base Tindal

RAAF Base Tindal located 15kms outside of Katherine is a young operational base and is one of Australia’s more important Defence installations.

Learn more Air Force website.

Defence Establishment Berrimah

Formally HMAS Coonawarra, Defence Establishment Berrimah is located 8kms east of the Darwin CBD.

Back to top